Featured image

Members of Congress Should Reject HSUS Award

The Humane Society of the United States recently released its scorecard for Congress. There’s much irony to be found in the situation considering the organization receives a “D” from CharityWatch and was recently embroiled in a major sexual harassment scandal in which the board of directors tried to cover for the alleged sexual predator CEO. How can HSUS have any credibility to rate lawmakers on being humane?

In addition to releasing the scorecard, HSUS also recently hosted the Congressional Humane Awards. Most times the legislators who received the awards don’t even show up to the ceremony. This most recent ceremony was only attended by a few dozen people with over 150 people “honored.” (Probably, a lot of bored staffers.)

HSUS—which spends over half a million dollars on lobbying—uses the award ceremony as a way to legitimize itself with Members and staff. Most Members wouldn’t support HSUS if they knew its real agenda, which like PETA wants to put every livestock farmer and cattle rancher out of business. Longtime HSUS leader Wayne Pacelle even has said, “I don’t want to see another cat or dog born.”

But some lawmakers are on to HSUS. Several years ago Alaskan Congressman Don Young publicly rejected an award from HSUS, stating:

            “Local animal shelters and humane societies do excellent work by caring for neglected and homeless animals, and through their spaying and neutering programs.  This organization, however, has absolutely nothing to do with animal welfare. Instead they prey on the emotions of big-hearted Americans.

More Members should follow suit. If your Representative or Senator is on the list below, you might want to give them a call or email and tell you them how you feel.


Rep.     Pete Aguilar

Rep.     Nanette Barragan

Rep.     Ami Bera

Rep.     Donald Beyer

Rep.     Suzanne Bonamici

Rep.     Salud Carbajal

Rep.     Matt Cartwright

Rep.     Kathy Castor

Rep.     David Cicilline

Rep.     Katherine Clark

Rep.     Steve Cohen

Rep.     Gerry Connolly

Rep.     Lou Correa

Rep.     Joe Courtney

Rep.     Charlie Crist

Rep.     Susan Davis

Rep.     Pete DeFazio

Rep.     Rosa DeLauro

Rep.     Mark DeSaulnier

Rep.     Ted Deutch

Rep.     Mike Doyle

Rep.     Eliot Engel

Rep.     Adriano Espaillat

Rep.     Brian Fitzpatrick

Rep.     Bill Foster

Rep.     Lois Frankel

Rep.     Ruben Gallego

Rep.     Jimmy Gomez

Rep.     Al Green

Rep.     Raul Grijalva

Rep.     Denny Heck

Rep.     Brian Higgins

Rep.     Jim Himes

Rep.     Jared Huffman

Rep.     Sheila Jackson Lee

Rep.     John Katko

Rep.     Derek Kilmer

Rep.     Raja Krishnamoorthi

Rep.     Conor Lamb

Rep.     John Larson

Rep.     Dan Lipinski

Rep.     Alan Lowenthal

Rep.     Nita Lowey

Rep.     Ben Ray Lujan

Rep.     Sean Patrick Maloney

Rep.     Donald McEachin

Rep.     Jim McGovern

Rep.     Jerry McNerney

Rep.     Seth Moulton

Rep.     Jerrold Nadler

Rep.     Grace Napolitano

Del.             Eleanor Norton

Rep.     Jimmy Panetta

Rep.     Chellie Pingree

Rep.     Mark Pocan

Rep.     David Price

Rep.     Mike Quigley

Rep.     Jamie Raskin

Rep.     Kathleen Rice

Sen.             Jacky Rosen

Rep.     Lucille Roybal-Allard

Rep.     Dutch Ruppersberger

Del.             Gregorio Sablan

Rep.     Linda Sanchez

Rep.     John Sarbanes

Rep.     Adam Schiff

Rep.     Jose Serrano

Rep.     Brad Sherman

Sen.             Krysten Sinema

Rep.     Albio Sires

Rep.     Adam Smith

Rep.     Darren Soto

Rep.     Thomas Suozzi

Rep.     Mark Takano

Rep.     Dina Titus

Rep.     Paul Tonko

Rep.     Juan Vargas

Rep.     Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Rep.     Peter Welch

Rep.     John Yarmuth

Rep.     Ralph Abraham

Rep.     Alma Adams

Rep.     Andy Barr

Rep.     Sanford Bishop

Rep.     Earl Blumenauer

Rep.     Brendan Boyle

Rep.     Anthony Brown

Rep.     Vern Buchanan

Rep.     Ken Calvert

Rep.     Tony Cardenas

Rep.     Joaquin Castro

Rep.     Judy Chu

Rep.     Chris Collins

Rep.     Rodney Davis

Rep.     Debbie Dingell

Rep.     Ron Estes

Rep.     Matt Gaetz

Rep.     Morgan Griffith

Rep.     Alcee Hastings

Rep.     Pramila Jayapal

Rep.     Hank Johnson

Rep.     Marcy Kaptur

Rep.     Bill Keating

Rep.     Ro Khanna

Rep.     Pete King

Rep.     Ted Lieu

Rep.     Stephen Lynch

Rep.     Brian Mast

Rep.     Michael McCaul

Rep.     Betty McCollum

Rep.     Gregory Meeks

Rep.     Grace Meng

Rep.     Donald Norcross

Rep.     Nancy Pelosi

Del.             Stacey Plaskett

Rep.     Bill Posey

Rep.     Janice Schakowsky

Rep.     Kurt Schrader

Rep.     Chris Smith

Rep.     Jackie Speier

Rep.     Steve Stivers

Rep.     Marc Veasey

Rep.     Roger Williams

Rep.     Ted Yoho

Rep.     Mike Conaway

Rep.     Collin Peterson

Sen.     Pat Roberts

Sen.     Debbie Stabenow

Sen.     Bernie Sanders

Sen.     Chris Van Hollen

Sen.     Chris Murphy

Sen.     Kirsten Gillibrand

Sen.     Tom Udall

Sen.     Jeff Merkley

Sen.     Kamala Harris

Sen.     Richard Blumenthal

Sen.     Cory Booker

Sen.     Tammy Baldwin

Sen.     Maria Cantwell

Sen.     Ben Cardin

Sen.     Tom Carper

Sen.     Bob Casey

Sen.     Susan Collins

Sen.     Chris Coons

Sen.     Catherine Cortez Masto

Sen.     Mike Crapo

Sen.     Steve Daines

Sen.     Tammy Duckworth

Sen.     Dick Durbin

Sen.     Dianne Feinstein

Sen.     Deb Fischer

Sen.     Lindsey Graham

Sen.     Maggie Hassan

Sen.     John Kennedy

Sen.     Patrick Leahy

Sen.     Mike Lee

Sen.     Ed Markey

Sen.     Martha McSally

Sen.     Bob Menendez

Sen.     Shelley Moore Capito

Sen.     Jerry Moran

Sen.     Patty Murray

Sen.     Rand Paul

Sen.     Gary Peters

Sen.     Jack Reed

Sen.     Chuck Schumer

Sen.     Jeanne Shaheen

Sen.     Pat Toomey

Sen.     Mark Warner

Sen.     Elizabeth Warren

Sen.     Sheldon Whitehouse

Sen.     Ron Wyden